Oh! The Many Applications of HTV! (heat transfer vinyl)

Hey! I wanted to show you guys what I have been working on lately.  One of my favorite thing to do over the past 3 years is complete fun projects using vinyl.  I have been using the Silhouette Cameo as my cutting tool of choice, and I only get my vinyl from Expressions Vinyl.  For me, vinyl is such a great way to customize a space in your home or a gift for a friend or loved one.  There are different types of vinyl depending on the project.  Today, I am going to show you some of my latest HTV projects.

HTV is essentially an iron-on vinyl that can be applied to almost any surface.  It is perfect for updating an old throw pillow like this one

(source):

Make your own pillow at kiki and company

I love the idea of sprucing up your kitchen towels like Sugarbee Crafts has done here

(source):

Using the HTV to reinvent a tote is one of my favorite ways to use it!  With the school year coming to a close, I made this end of year teacher appreciation tote for my sons 1st grade teacher.

I was inspired by this tote here which was sold out, so I decided to make my own! That is one of the things that I love about having vinyl on hand, all the DIY projects!

I purchased this tote at my local Hobby Lobby for $4 and the vinyl from Expressions Vinyl they are really the best!

1-2016-05-05 12.56.26-1

One of our favorite things to do during the summer is go to our local library.  We love piling up on books and movies to keep us entertained during the week.  Below are some plain totes that we customized into awesome book bags!

1-image1

 

And of course who doesn’t love making a custom shirt to celebrate a special occasion?! I made this custom onsie for my little miss for her 1st birthday celebration.

1-1-1-IMG_0725

 

Now it is time for you to put those Pinterest boards to use!

Supplies Needed:

Vinyl. Depending on the project you are doing there are different styles of heat transfer vinyl  flocked, glitter and or smooth.

Iron

A cutting machine like a Silhouette (which is what I use) or an exacto knife.

Instructions:

Start but cutting your design (MAKE sure you MIRROR image your design)

Place the vinyl shiny side down and feed through the machine.

Once your design is cut, peel away the pieces that are NOT part of your design.

You can use a sharp tool like this Silhouette hook to help if needed

Peel until you have everything removed EXCEPT what you want to transfer:

Now, get out your iron and turn it to the cotton setting. Lay your transfer on your item you are transferring to:

And iron for 60 seconds.

Let it cool for a few minutes and then gently peel it off. And you’ve got a finished product!

 

So, what are you waiting for?  Head on over to Expression Vinyl and create your own masterpiece today!

Leave a Reply

